Data tracking in Google Chrome: Here’s how to make a request to “Do not track.”

by | Mar 7, 2024

To disable these hidden trackers, users can send a request to websites requesting them not to gather or monitor user browsing data.

Many websites are able to follow users’ devices and access their information since browser tracking features are often left in their default settings. What happens to the user data, however, is decided by the website that responds to the request.

It is possible for several websites to gather sensitive user data and monitor users’ devices every time a user logs in to Google Chrome to browse the internet. Many websites are able to follow users’ devices and access their information since browser tracking features are often left in their default settings.

What happens to the user data, however, is decided by the website that responds to the request. For instance, after receiving a “Do not track” request, many websites nevertheless collect and use user browsing data to improve security, provide users with content, services, advertising, and suggestions, as well as to generate reporting statistics.

In a blog post, Google stated that “the majority of websites and web services, including Google’s, do not modify their behaviour when they receive a Do Not Track request.”

To disable these covert trackers, users may still make requests to websites asking them to cease collecting or tracking user browsing data. Here is how to accomplish it:

Sending A “Do not track” Request From A Desktop:

  • Step 1 : Open Google Chrome Browser on your PC.
  • Step 2 : Select the menu item with three dots.
  • Step 3 : From the drop-down menu, select Settings.
  • Step 4 : Choose Cookies and other site data under Privacy and security settings.
  • Step 5 : Enable Send a “Do not track” request with your browser traffic by turning on the toggle.

Sending A “Do not track” from An Android Device:

  • Step 1 : Launch the Chrome app on an Android phone or tablet.
  • Step 2 : Click or tap the three dots in the top right corner of the screen.
  • Step 3 : Navigate to Settings.
  • Step 4 : Select the privacy and security option from the Basics menu.
  • Step 5 : Select “Do not track” and activate the setting.